As a favour to my aunt, I took a billion – well, 60-odd – photos of her 50th wedding anniversary party in E-town. The hope was that enough photos of her friends and loved ones would turn out that I could make her a little album.

A rare photo from my aunt & uncle's 50th anniversary party with no pesky people in it.

A rare photo from my aunt & uncle's 50th anniversary party with no pesky people in it.

I love taking pictures… of architecture. A building doesn’t get anxious when it is the subject of a series of portraits, each with a slightly different angle. Architecture tends to be found outdoors, where it is lit by the sun instead of crappy fluorescents or spot lights. It doesn’t close its eyes or make surprising faces, and it certainly doesn’t feel obliged to engage you in polite conversation.

Editing these pictures after the fact is a lesson in humility. Some are sweet, but many folks looks pretty uncomfortable while they wait for me to take their damn picture.

I would love to be competent at taking portraits one day. The role of family archivist naturally falls to me, both in my extended family and with Z, and it would be nice if our archives didn’t suck. Clearly, I need someone to practice on. Maybe visiting friends this summer will sit still for me.

At least, the next time I take pictures of people at an indoor event, I will beware the ceiling. It is not flattering when the photo angle frames an old lady’s head between the air vents and sprinklers.

