My “pre-conception” doctor’s appointment was on Saturday, and I’m so glad I went! First of all, the doctor was awesome, and now I have a real “family doctor”, hopefully for many years to come.

The doctor ordered a ton of “preconception” tests, including tests for anaemia, thyroid function, UTIs and a host of STIs. Apparently it’s much easier to test and treat a these things if you’re not already pregnant when you first go see the doctor.

Then she gave me an extremely low-quality photocopy of an information sheet about pregnancy and babies. It’s everything you need to know about conception, pregnancy, childbirth and breastfeeding on one side of a piece of paper that has been faxed and photocopied about a million times. A quarter of the paper deals with nausea and vomiting. It also includes a fuzzy drawing of an enormous pregnant woman doing water aerobics. You can tell right away that this journey is going to be a lot of fun.

The doctor also told me sternly that 30 was good time to be trying (subtext: you’re getting kind of old) and to switch to prenatal vitamins right away, on my third-last cycle before we start trying.

Internet, I am so excited to be taking prenatal vitamins, even though they taste like a blend of rotting fish and potpourri. It’s like we’re actually almost there.

