Since I promised Z we could make this pregnancy public after the 12-week mark, the last few days have been a blur of announcements. My best friends and closest cousin now know the news, as do a few good friends.

We’ll tell the rest of our friends as we see them, and I am reluctantly resigned to making the announcement to my parents next time we see them. They will be excited, but my mom is a professional worrier, and my hitherto peaceful existence will be shattered. I wish we could wait until my next midwife appointment at 14 weeks, until we’ve heard a heartbeat again, but the parents are definitely starting to suspect, and I’m looking kind of fat, so here we are.

We spent the weekend in Z’s home town visiting his whole clan and telling them the news. His parents were so excited, and every time we turn around there was another set of aunties or uncles congratulating us. The first morning we woke up there, after a leisurely sleep-in, we discovered that Z’s auntie had been sitting in the living room since 7am waiting for us to get up so she could squee with us.

I also received the first of many non-consentual belly rubs. I’m not a particularly cuddly person at the best of times, but the belly rubs feel especially awkward since:

1) I don’t really have a belly yet
2) My uterus is still way down by my pelvic bone, so people are just jiggling my stomach and kidneys while cooing.

Many of Z’s cousins have young kids or are expecting, so next summer there are going to be a lot of babies up here to visit. That’s pretty cool. We have small immediate families, especially in the city, so I really hope that we can build the kind of community where this kid has a bunch of relations and honourary uncles, aunties, cousins and second cousins to grow up with.

After 2.5 months of having this pregnancy just be our little secret (and me trying not to get excited because anything could still happen) now that other people are all talking about it, the reality is starting to sink in that there is almost certainly going to be a little baby coming to live with us next February. It’s official!

Z & I haven’t told our coworkers either. I am hoping that everyone in the office politely refrains from asking me about my little belly until I am ready to formally announce! After the 14-week midwife appointment, I’ll tell my boss, and then the fetus will be officially offical. And then I’ll be able to stop wearing these baggy shirts all the time, and start accumulating baby stuff!

